15 minutes of Freedom

I have been thinking about getting new wheels for a while. My Mountaineer: 7 years old has more than 70k miles: a gas hogging SUV. I really don’t need an all wheel drive, designed for the Colorado mountain escapes; nor do I use heated seats in sunny Florida.

My paradigm has also  shifted towards more conservation and being green. I really wanted an electric car: TESLA. But the technology is still not fully tested and the price is “over the top” ($120k) . Maybe in a few years. 

Yesterday, I got a black Audi Cabriolet.

I never imagined that I would own a convertible. It’s an amazing experience; our four year old, Shania, calls it a “cool car”. Our teenager, Daiyaan, believes that she is more “in touch” with the road while “touching the sky”.

Wasima convinced me that one must live their life to the fullest NOW. Who knows what tomorrow may bring.

The internal debate about brushed silver or black, followed me for a while (red cars scares me). Finally, settled for black. Wasima is not ready for me to get “old” that quickly with a silver car….

Why so many confusion points about a simple decision? Does a car really represent me or my feelings?

I didn’t even know what I wanted to do.

It is amazing that with all different  influences in our lives, it is difficult to pinpoint exactly what I want. So many options and choices, so many external influences.

This confusion (of choice and pressure) actually makes life intriguing and enjoyable. Knowing that your loved ones care enough to make a statement and they care to make you feel good. When you see them smiling next to you or, in Shania’s case, raising her hand in the car, to touch the air, it’s all worth it.

But, it is also amazing to let go of the “rational” sense of buying a larger car (for carrying bunches of kids around to activities) and just doing what you feel like doing.

Does this car make me feel younger… more hip? Probably.

But I also know that my large bald spot (more like a stadium) will need more sunscreen and will now remained “tanned like a toast” forever. But who gives a ****? My toasted bald spot will enjoy the freedom of a fifteen minute drive from home to work (and vice versa) in an open black convertible while I listen to “Lucky” (Jason Mraz and Colbie Caillat (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9iraoHE6JlY) with a mega Bose surround System.. and for those fifteen minutes, I will become my own self… free to choose, free to love, free to feel… that there is more to life than just making rational, sane, practical, pragmatic decisions.

For those 15 minutes I will be free.

One thought on “15 minutes of Freedom

Leave a Reply

