The First Day of the Rest of My Life: Oct 24 2010

A New Sun Encourages to Start Life Anew Everyday

After a long time, this morning, I went to watch the sunrise by the ocean. As the reddish sun slowly creeps up over the clouds, the strong breeze this morning brings in some beautiful frothy tides.

As I step on the sand, and the waves gently hug my feet, I feel the warmth of its touch, letting me know that it is still very close to me, if I choose the embrace.

On my IPod, a song gifted to me by Daiyaan, suddenly echoes in my ear: “Better Days” (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i-kHleNYIDc&ob=av2e) by Goo Goo Dolls.

So take these words
And sing out loud
Cuz everyone is forgiven now
Cuz tonight’s the night the world begins again

So many things happen in our lives, good or bad.

Life takes over, as we try to solve problems and meet needs. We forget to enjoy the very simple, yet beautiful gifts around us. Most of these– like a walk on the beach, a hug from our loved ones, or a magnificent sunrise– are free.

And you ask me what I want this year
And I try to make this kind and clear
Just a chance that maybe we’ll find better days
Cuz I don’t need boxes wrapped in strings
And desire and love and empty things
Just a chance that maybe we’ll find better days

There are many solitary walkers (and runners) like me on the beach.  We greet each other, with a polite, “good morning” and a smile. We are all here because we want to be here, heralding a new day in our lives.

The benevolent ocean does not discriminate by size, age, color, wealth, gender or any other issue. It keeps giving its embrace, in the form of warm, beautiful waves on so many continents. It’s ours to re-kindle, if we choose.

My thoughts drift, if today is the first day of my life, what should I do?

Some of the things I have always wanted to do: learn to fish, or pick up Spanish as a language, learn to play the acoustic guitar, boat down the Amazon or visit Jerusalem – find beautiful lighthouses around the world.  

I would take my mermaid and the princess to show the geysers in Yellowstone. Or rent a cabin up in the mountains of Colorado – hiking every day. I would love to take beautiful train journeys in Africa, Australia, Tibet, Canada or by the Trans-Siberian express.

Why not make this the first day of my life?

If am fortunate to live another twenty years, I probably have a thousand weekends left in life. In line with this thinking, some philosopher put a thousand marbles in a jar and threw one away, every week, just to remind him the limited nature of time. We have to take this opportunity – to make every day meaningful in our lives – make every marble count for something.

As the sun comes up in the horizon, I watch a swarm of little birds looking for fish around the beach. The golden glow sparkles on the moving water; tomorrow, or the next time I return, the waves may be different, the birds will fly in a different pattern and waves will hug me differently. That’s ok. The warmth of that embrace will still be the same; constantly reminding me that I can start my life all-over, making it whatever I choose for it to be.

4 thoughts on “The First Day of the Rest of My Life: Oct 24 2010

  1. Zain! you ought to write a book! I have a bit of the writer’s bug in me…I only need to let it out and let it transform into some beautiful butterfly! please send a squeeze to yor wife. Thomas would like to get together…maybe we could go out on the boat (we just got it fixed after being in need of repairs for a while) once the Halloween craze passes we’ll be enjoying the ocean and breeze more often…and how much better if we enjoy it in the company of nice people? =)

    1. Thanks for reading my blog and your positive comments, Diana. We look forward to going out on the boat with you. Please say hi to Thomas!

Leave a Reply

